You Can’t Go Home Again.

home 1My third stop on Sunday was the house that I spent half of my childhood in. 

I haven’t lived there since the fifth grade, but I think of the house often.  It’s prominent in my dreams.  I often dream that I live there now, but in my dreams the house is in much better shape than it is in reality.

I doubt that the house is even habitable at this point.

I really wanted to peek in the windows, despite the “No Trespassing” sign, but they all had shades that were drawn tight.

I have many happy memories of living in this farm house, but it’s funny, in my memories the house seems so much larger than it is now.  I mentioned this to my parents and they agreed that it seemed larger to them as well.

Now, the house is just sad.

I wonder if the ghosts are lonely?home 3

The window to my little bedroom.

The window to my little bedroom.

home 5home 6

Even the garage seems smaller than it is in my memories.

Even the garage seems smaller than it is in my memories.

~ by trippybeth on March 18, 2013.

2 Responses to “You Can’t Go Home Again.”

  1. Thank you for your entries. I am trying to find grave stones for my relatives in the Augusta cemetery. Please contact me.

Leave a Reply

 
