Highland Cemetery, Ft. Mitchell, KY

Today I am posting some older photos of Highland Cemetery, located in Ft. Mitchell, KY.

Highland is a beautiful cemetery that lies between Dixie Highway and I75. But, once you pass through the cemetery gates, the hustle and bustle of the highways and traffic seems to vanish into the calm air that lovingly caresses the stones.

Highland Cemetery was created in 1868 after the cemeteries in Covington proper had almost reached their capacity. The cemetery has 250 acres with over 46,000 burials.

Many of the areas most notable residents now, permanently, reside within the confines of Highland. War heroes, famous and infamous politicians, an unidentified murder victim who was found shot in Devou Park, locally well known business persons, actress Una Merkel, jockeys, men of the cloth, influenza epidemic victims… the list goes on and on…

Of the following photos, some were taken in the summer, some in the fall…

On my very first visit to Highland, this was the very first stone that I encountered.  The doctor and I share the same birthday, although different years.  It gave me a shiver, then a smile!

On my very first visit to Highland, this was the very first stone that I encountered. The doctor and I share the same birthday, although different years. It gave me a shiver, then a smile!

highland 14highland 13highland 12highland 11highland 10highland 9highland 8highland 7highlands 2highlands 1highland dhighland chighland bhighland ahighland 6highland 5highland 4highland 3highland 2Upon my very first visit to Highland, the was the very first stone that I encountered.  This doctor and I share the same birthday, although different years, it gave me a shiver... then a smile!

~ by trippybeth on February 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
