Mt. Moriah Mausoleums…

Saturday afternoon, after a productive little trip to the Goodwill, I ventured across the street to the Mt.Moriah Cemetery.
I had wondered about the cemetery on previous Goodwilling adventures, but always had bargains to capture, so I didn’t find my way over there.
But on Saturday, as the snow was flying, after I loaded my booty into the car, I steered the Silver Armadillo down the street into the cemetery.
It’s a charming little cemetery, about 50 acres from the information that I gleaned from the interwebs. It’s interesting to me that they allow so much decoration as many cemeteries don’t seem to anymore.
There were only two mausoleums, which are my main attraction and a lovely little pond, complete with waterfall and plenty of fowl.
You can find Mt. Moriah Cemetery situated behind the original Mt. Moriah Baptist Church, Union Township, Clermont County, Ohio.

I love the simplicity of this mausolem, the stacked stone, the tile roof, unpretentous, yet absolutely beautiful.

I love the simplicity of this mausolem, the stacked stone, the tile roof, unpretentous, yet absolutely beautiful.

086
Notice the Masonic Square and Compass on the gates..

Notice the Masonic Square and Compass on the gates..

photo
This mausoleum was interesting,.. it's constructed of stone, yet is painted with what appears to be barn roof paint... weird.

This mausoleum was interesting,.. it’s constructed of stone, yet is painted with what appears to be barn roof paint… weird.

080

~ by trippybeth on February 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
