Regaling the Roebling…

On Friday evening, I ventured down to the riverside in Covington.
It was a brutally cold evening, my car said that it was 31 degrees; I seriously doubted its accuracy. The cold and wind did nothing to improve my bronchitis, however, I did get, what I think, were some fantastic photos!!
My lungs will eventually forgive me, I’m sure; well I hope that they do anyway…
The majority of the photos are of the Roebling Suspension Bridge, the prettiest bridge in all the land, it is so romantic and majestic. And it’s even more magnetic after the sun has set.
When the John A. Roebling Suspension Bridge was completed in December of 1866 it was the longest suspension bridge IN THE WORLD! In the first two days of its opening, there were 166,000 pedestrians that crossed it.
Its construction was not without hiccups. From invention of new pumps being necessary to pump water, to financial panic, to the Civil War, it took 10 years until the bridge reached completion. And, surprisingly, considering lax labor practices of the time, only 2 workers died during the construction of the bridge.
The Roebling Suspension Bridge has been on the National Register of Historic Places since 1975 and designated a National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark in 1983… Right here in my little adopted town of Covington!
The Roebling’s website is here: http://roeblingbridge.org/.
I hope that you enjoy the photos…
044

My favorite photo from the evening!

My favorite photo from the evening!

050054066057

~ by trippybeth on February 17, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
