St. Elizabeth North, Covington, KY

Today I bring you photos of St. Elizabeth North Hospital, Covington, Kentucky.

I snapped these photos while out tooling around Covington, looking for a particular subject that proved to be elusive.
So, being ever adventurous, I stopped at a few other local landmarks, the hospital being one.

This year, St. E North will be 152 years old, quite impressive from it’s humble beginnings.
It was began by Henrietta Cleveland, who after suffering losses of children and her husband, was concerned about the plight of Covington’s poor.

With a $2000.00 collection acquired with the help of a socially active Cincinnatian and the OK from the Covington bishop, the first St. Elizabeth Hospital began. It was both a hospital and a home for foundlings (abandoning babies is not a new phenomena).

Here is St. Elizabeth’s site http://www.stelizabeth.com/history150.aspx where you can read more about their history and their massive growth (some say monopoly) in northern Kentucky.

The Kenton County Library has more historical data for your reading pleasure, as always, http://www.kentonlibrary.org/genealogy/history/covington/article.cfm?ID=282.

The day I stopped by, I chose only to photograph the older part of the building as opposed to the newer, architecturally less-interesting portions.

I love hearing stories about working in old hospitals, how different the nursing was, and the patients. Some parts of me think that I am more suited to have lived during an earlier era.

My favorite image from that day.

My favorite image from that day.

st e n 5st e n 3st e n 1
My photo.

My photo.

st e n 2
Another postcard.

Another postcard.

A postcard image of the hospital.

A postcard image of the hospital.

An early photo of the hospital.

An early photo of the hospital.

~ by trippybeth on February 14, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
