Eloquently Evergreen

Today, I bring you a series of photos that I took at Evergreen Cemetery, Southgate, Kentucky.

Evergreen is the largest cemetery in all of northern KY, and it is quite beautiful.
With it’s 300 acres, it’s a perfect place for walking, biking or hiking. I got a work out traipsing up and down the hillsides.

This is the cemetery where Raymond and Charlie’s father was Buried in Rain Man. I really need to watch that movie again…

A brief history of Evergreen Cemetery can be found here:
http://www.nkyviews.com/campbell/text/txt_evergreen.htm

I’ll begin with a few historical photos/postcards.

I hope that you enjoy!

A postcard image of the Chapel.

A postcard image of the Chapel.

The Evergreen shelter house, which has now fallen into disrepair.

The Evergreen shelter house, which has now fallen into disrepair.

evergreen historicalevergreen 13
This is, hands down, one of my favorite mausoleums.

This is, hands down, one of my favorite mausoleums.

evergreen 9evergreen 8
This is my favorite photo from Evergreen, I also featured it in my "Doorways of Death" series.

This is my favorite photo from Evergreen, I also featured it in my “Doorways of Death” series.

The chapel.

The chapel.

evergreen 5evergreen 4evergreen 3evergreen 2evergreen 1

~ by trippybeth on February 12, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
