Spring Grove Cemetery; Revisited…

I am madly in love with Spring Grove Cemetery… there I said it.
I know that I’ve said it before, but it is the most beautiful place in the city.

I don’t say this to try to diminish any other sites in Ohtucky… I mean, I still crush hard on Music Hall… but Spring Grove… well if you’ve never been there, you cannot understand.

Yesterday, I was still stricken with the plague, but knew that I had to seize the opportunity to get some photos while the snow was still… ON.

And don’t let my enthusiasm fool you, it was COLD! But, by the time I left home, the temperature had climbed to a balmy 27 degrees.

I pulled into the cemetery proper, there were “hazardous road conditions” signs out, but the roads were just fine. With the blustery temps and the snow, there wasn’t a big crowd, which was totally fine with me. I like having places all to my onesies.

I made the obligatory stop at Geyser Lake, snapped a couple photos of the frozen water, and the lone goose out there freezing his tail feathers off.

Then… up to my FAVORITE place in Spring Grove.

Dexter Mausoleum.

The Dexter Mausoleum was built between the years of 1865-1869 for the Dexter Brothers, in the Gothic style of architecture… which is my favorite style, just so you know.

It was built for brothers Julius and Edmund Dexter.
Edmund was a crafter of fine Kentucky Bourbon and Julius was a state senator.

The mausoleum is built with the chapel above the crypts, the outside made of sandstone and the interior made of marble. What I wouldn’t give to get a peek inside!
And the flying buttresses that the mausoleums are constructed with are unseen throughout Ohio and possibly the United States.

Here’s a link to read more about the mausoleums at SG http://www.cincinnativiews.net/spring_grove_5.htm

I ran into a fellow Dexterphile while trying not to contract hypothermia. He shared my love for SG and said that he and his wife had his wedding photos taken there, I bet they were gorgeous!

So, without further ado…
The Spring Grove Photos….

winter 12winter 13

Oh cemetery tree, oh cemetery tree...

Oh cemetery tree, oh cemetery tree…

Drippity, drip, drip...

Drippity, drip, drip…

Bodmann Mausoleum.

Bodmann Mausoleum.

The Alms Mausoleum.

The Alms Mausoleum.

Procter Mausoleum.

Procter Mausoleum.

Davis Mausoleum.

Davis Mausoleum.

Woodrow Mausoleum.

Woodrow Mausoleum.

Snowy steps to the Dexter.

Snowy steps to the Dexter.

Geyser Lake

Geyser Lake

winter 9
This is maybe the Worthington Mausoleum??

This is maybe the Worthington Mausoleum??

The Dexter in the distance.

The Dexter in the distance.

The Dexter Mausoleum in all its glory.

The Dexter Mausoleum in all its glory.

Only me and Goosey McGoose out there chillin'.

Only me and Goosey McGoose out there chillin’.

The snow covered foot bridge over Geyser Lake.

The snow covered foot bridge over Geyser Lake.

John Robinson Mausoleum

John Robinson Mausoleum

~ by trippybeth on February 4, 2013.

2 Responses to “Spring Grove Cemetery; Revisited…”

  1. Lovely mausoleums! Good for you for braving the snow. We’ve got so much on the ground right now that I can’t get to the cemetery. I’d love to take some snowy shots too.

    • THANK YOU!! 😃
      Well we haven’t had enough snow to prevent cemetery exploring 😉
      I love how the cemetery looks different every time I’m there, I can’t stay away!
      My bronchitis/pleurisy wasn’t too impressed with my adventures, but it was worth it!!

Leave a Reply

 
